US Vote Smart

Home » 2016-03-01 Republican primary » State Senate District 4 » State Senator

State Senator

State Senate District 4

State Senator


The Texas Senate is composed of 31 members, each elected for a four-year term. The state senate, together with the state house of representatives, constitute the Texas Legislature. The duties of the legislature include consideration of proposed laws and resolutions, consideration of proposed constitutional amendments for submission to the voters, and appropriation of all funds for the operation of state government. All bills for raising revenue considered by the legislature must originate in the house of representatives. The senate also tries any statewide officer impeached by the house.

The incumbent senator for District 4 is Brandon Creighton, who was originally elected to the position in 2014 and is running for re-election (unopposed in the primary).