US Vote Smart

Home » 2016-03-01 Republican primary » Texas » Railroad Commissioner

Railroad Commissioner


Railroad Commissioner


The Railroad Commission was originally established to regulate railroads, but all of those authorities have been preempted by federal agencies. The commission is now primarily responsible for regulating oil and gas industries. The three Railroad Commissioners are elected to six-year terms with one commissioner seat up for election every two years.

The 2016 position is currently held by David Porter who initially filed for re-election, but apparently withdrew his request.

** TX Secretary of State March 1st Primary Results **